24 for 3

Author(s): Jennie Walker

Adult Fiction

Do cricketers blush? What happens if the ball hits a seagull? Can a woman have a lover and a husband and still keep her family together? Can the rules be changed? Friday: as a Test match between England and India begins, a woman's attention is torn between a husband who is all too keen to explain the rules, a lover who prefers mystery, and a sixteen-year-old son who hasn't come home. By Tuesday night the match will have been won or lost. Or perhaps it will have reached a draw in which only pride may be salvaged. First published August 2008.

$29.95(AUD)

Available Stock:
1

Add to Cart

Click & Collect


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

Originally published by a tiny independent, this little book has already created something of a stir. It has been an Evening Standard London bestseller, garnered wonderful reviews, and Mick Jagger has bought a copy! Extremely charismatic and promotable author, who has written this under a pseudonym: the story of how the book was published should attract attention. For readers of On Chesil Beach, The Hours and On Beauty.

'24 for 3 contains some of the tightest, cleanest writing I have seen in a long time ... This is a little marvel. It's funny, clever, illuminating, deeply kind-hearted and it doesn't overstay its welcome. It's not self-indulgent: things happen in it, surprising things, like in an old-fashioned novel, yet it's perfectly contemporary; and every word has been chosen with subtle care' Nicholas Lezard, Guardian 'Exceptionally intellectually nimble as well as freshly expressed... [Walker] is a very fine poet and it shows' Susannah Clapp, BBC Radio 4 Saturday Review 'This is such a gem. I wish I'd written it' Suzannah Dunn 'Read 24 for 3. Give it to smart friends, dull ones, brainy and dense ones; leave it on the train instead of a newspaper. I hope it outsells Alan Bennett's delightful squib, The Uncommon Reader, because it achieves the hardest thing in fiction: joy from difficulty, while maintaining a sense of unforced truth' Spectator

Jennie Walker is a pen-name of Charles Boyle, an award-winning poet. Charles lives in London with his wife and two sons.

General Fields

  • : 9780747597926
  • : 55652
  • : 55652
  • : August 2008
  • : 178mm X 111mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Jennie Walker
  • : Hardback
  • : 1
  • : 823.92
  • : 144