Boyhood Island (My Struggle #3)

Author(s): Karl Ove Knausgaard

Adult Fiction

A family of four - mother, father and two boys - move to Sorland, to a new house on a new estate. It is the early 1970s, the children are small, the parents young and the future open. But at some point that future happens to them; at some point the future closes. The third book of the My Struggle cycle is set in a world where children and adults live parallel lives, ones that never meet. With insight and honesty, Karl Ove Knausgaard writes of a child's growing self-awareness, of how events of the past impact on the present, and of the desire for other ways of living and other worlds within what we know.


Available Stock:

Add to Cart

Click & Collect

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

An autobiographical story of childhood and family from the international sensation and bestseller, Karl Ove Knausgaard

KARL OVE KNAUSGAARD's first novel, "Out of the World," was the first ever debut novel to win The Norwegian Critics' Prize, and his second novel, "A Time to Every Purpose Under Heaven," was widely acclaimed. "A Death in the Family," the first of the "My Struggle "cycle of novels, received the prestigious Brage Award. The "My Struggle" cycle has been heralded as a masterpiece wherever it appears. The six novels of the "My Struggle" cycle can be read independently or as one hugely ambitious project. This breathtaking cycle has been the greatest literary sensation in Norway in decades. The books have spurred a heated literary debate about the use of autobiographical elements in fiction, and about literary criticism in general. In addition to amazing reviews and several awards and nominations, this fascinating literary experiment has generated an enormous interest among journalists, critics and readers, resulting in hundreds of articles, commentaries, essays, blog posts and discussions.

General Fields

  • : 9781846557231
  • : Vintage
  • : Harvill Secker
  • : 0.368
  • : February 2014
  • : 234mm X 153mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : April 2014
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Karl Ove Knausgaard
  • : Paperback
  • : 414
  • : 480