Beethoven's Symphonies: An Artistic Vision

Author(s): Lewis Lockwood

Music Books

The Beethoven symphonies form the core of the classical concert repertoire and remain among the defining works of the Western musical experience. As the heir to Haydn and Mozart, Beethoven possessed an artistic vision that found its most powerful expression in the symphonic form, which he revolutionised and bequeathed to posterity. Beethoven's Symphonies introduces each symphony and traces the background, set against the contemporary political upheavals, the growth of concert life and his other works. Lewis Lockwood uncovers a creative process of remarkable scope and originality, including reference to ideas sketched out but not realised. From the first symphonies to the monumental Ninth, his passion to compose works of transcendent value is brought to life.


Available Stock:

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

Lewis Lockwood taught at Princeton and Harvard universities, where he is Fanny Peabody Professor of Music Emeritus. His Beethoven: The Music and the Life was a Pulitzer Prize finalist. He resides in Brookline, Massachusetts.

General Fields

  • : 9780393076448
  • : WW Norton & Co
  • : WW Norton & Co
  • : 0.57
  • : October 2015
  • : 235mm X 155mm
  • : November 2015
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Lewis Lockwood
  • : Hardback
  • : 1512
  • : 780.92
  • : 304
  • : 10 illustrations; 10 music examples