Police at the Station and they Don't Look Friendly (Sean Duffy #6)

Author(s): Adrian McKinty


Belfast 1988: a man has been shot in the back with an arrow. It ain't Injuns and it isn't Robin Hood. But uncovering exactly who has done it will take Detective Inspector Sean Duffy down his most dangerous road yet, a road that leads to a lonely clearing on the high bog where three masked gunmen will force Duffy to dig his own grave. Hunted by forces unknown, threatened by Internal Affairs and with his relationship on the rocks, Duffy will need all his wits to get out of this investigation in one piece. SPINETINGLER AWARD WINNER NED KELLY AWARD WINNER BARRY AWARD WINNER STEEL DAGGER AWARD SHORTLISTED EDGAR AWARD SHORTLISTED THEAKSTONS AWARD SHORTLISTED ANTHONY AWARD NOMINEE


Available Stock:

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

SEAN DUFFY #6: This time, help isn't coming. This time, Duffy has to save himself.

Long-listed for CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger 2017 (UK).

McKinty has all the virtues: smart dialogue, sharp plotting, sense of place, well-rounded characters and a nice line in what might be called cynical lyricism ... Gateway McKinty: you won't stop here Irish Times The tension between McKinty's love of tight, formal puzzles and loose, riffing dialogue is what makes the Duffy novels such a joy Guardian A new Sean Duffy novel is always one of the highlights of a crime reader's year Sydney Morning Herald A treat and an education -- Val McDermid One of the great crime series ... Brilliant Sun A classic plot with modern twists Sunday Times

Adrian McKinty was born and grew up in Carrickfergus, Northern Ireland. He studied law at Warwick and politics and philosophy at Oxford before emigrating to New York in 1993. In 2008, he emigrated again, this time to Melbourne, Australia with his wife and kids. Adrian's first crime novel, Dead I Well May Be, was shortlisted for the Ian Fleming Steel Dagger Award and was picked as the best debut crime novel of 2004 by the American Library Association. The first of the books in the Sean Duffy series, The Cold Cold Ground, won the 2013 Spinetingler Award and was picked as one of the best crime novels of the year by The Times; the second, I Hear the Sirens in the Street, won the 2014 Barry Award, was shortlisted for the Ned Kelly Award and was longlisted for the Theakston's Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award. The third, In the Morning I'll Be Gone, won the 2014 Ned Kelly award and was picked as one of the top 5 crime novels of the year by The Mail on Sunday. The fourth, Gun Street Girl, was shortlisted for the 2015 Ned Kelly Award, the 2016 Edgar Award, the 2016 Audie Award, the 2016 Anthony Award and was picked as one of the best crime novels of the year by The Boston Globe and The Irish Times. His latest Sean Duffy book, Rain Dogs, has been shortlisted for the CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger Award, the Theakston's Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award and the Ned Kelly Award.

General Fields

  • : 9781781256923
  • : Profile Books Ltd
  • : Serpent's Tail
  • : 0.412
  • : December 2016
  • : 234mm X 153mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : February 2017
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Adrian McKinty
  • : Paperback
  • : Main
  • : en
  • : 823.92
  • : 320